Resurgence

Resurgence is our school’s annual commerce festival. For two years during high school I had the unique opportunity to design for this grand event. The festival got its name from the fact that the students always managed to better their last years performance regardless of the hurdles they faced, similar to a phoenix that rises from its own ashes. The phoenix then became our main focus of design. The phoenix was used as the logo, the magazine cover, the watermark for the certificates, etc.

The logo was a phoenix designed by me. I decided to make it look a bit more serious rather than focusing on intricate design and beauty. At the same time the phoenix is still portrayed in all its elegance and splendour. The fiery golden colour that the phoenix is laid in signifies fierceness and its rising from the ashes.

The idea for the text design came up when I decided to customise the word “Resurgence” and make it unique and not just a word put together from internet fonts. I then designed wings for the word to make it look like the word had wings attached to it. Keeping in mind that the theme revolved around the phoenix, I kept the feathers sharp and small and avoided making them fluffy. To finish off I gave the lettering and the wings a yellowish glow to make the word stand out a little.

Leave a comment